News Flash

Current News

Posted on: September 12, 2023

City Announces the 2023-24 Class of the Columbia Mayor’s Youth Council

CMYC 2023-24

The City is excited to announce the start of the 3rd year of the Columbia Mayor’s Youth Council (CMYC). The 2023-24 class held their initial kickoff meeting on Tuesday, September 12, 2023 at 4:00 pm at Columbia City Hall. The CMYC is composed of members from various Maury County high schools who value academic excellence, community involvement, and leadership. The goal of the CMYC is to foster leadership and community involvement among Columbia’s diverse high-school population and to encourage students to become further interested in local government. CMYC meetings will be held monthly, in addition to community and volunteer projects. The CMYC members were selected based upon an application process that was made available to all public, private, and home-schooled Maury County high school students. The application process opened August 1st and closed August 25th

Mayor Chaz Molder stated, When I was first elected, I felt a special obligation to the youth of our community, considering I am the youngest mayor to serve in this office. Since being re-elected last year, that commitment is as strong as ever, and I am really excited to double down on investing in our youth through the Columbia Mayor’s Youth Council. This Council has been a huge success in its first couple of years of being organized and I feel confident this year's Council will take the Council, and indeed our community, to even greater heights. It will help bridge the gap between generations and cultivate a generation of future leaders.  I am so pleased with the interest we received for this 3rd year of Mayor's Youth Council, a diverse group from all over Maury County. These Council members represent some of the best and brightest of our youth, and this Council should give us all optimism and hope for our future.”


The students selected to serve on the 2023-2024 CMYC are as followed: 



Addyson Codling - Columbia Academy

Ayanna Jones - Mount Pleasant High School 

Caroline Cashion – Columbia Central High School

Chloe Moore – Culleoka Unit School

Darden Powers – Columbia Central High School

Emily Diles – Columbia Academy

Finley Skelton – Columbia Academy

Greenley Floyd – Columbia Central High School

Hannah Alberd – Zion Christian Academy 

Lily Tweedy – Spring Hill High School 

Madison Smith – Columbia Central High School

Myla Lindsey – Mt. Pleasant High School 

Owen Hollis – Columbia Central High School

Parker Shirley – Columbia Academy

Patton Duvall – Columbia Central High School

Ruhan Patel – Columbia Academy

Will Sowell – Columbia Academy



Addison Thomas – Columbia Academy

Anna Brewer – Columbia Academy

Brooke Gibbs – Culleoka Unit School

Carter Lawrence – Columbia Central High School 

Ke’veontae Martin – Columbia Central High School

Lollie Jo Greene – Mt. Pleasant High School 

Riley Krimmel – Columbia Central High School

Ryan Bytwerk – Culleoka Unit School 

Tre’Veontae Martin – Columbia Central High School

Zion Wyatt – Maury County Virtual Schools 



Jacqueline Karp – Zion Christian Academy 



Audrey Rountree – Columbia Central High School 


To learn more about the CMYC or to stay up-to-date with CMYC community projects, visit Follow the Columbia Mayor’s Youth Council on Facebook at or Instagram at For questions, please contact or (931) 560-1510.